February 11, 2021

Memorandum to: Chairs of District School Boards

Directors of Education School Authorities

From: Stephen Lecce

Minister of Education

Nancy Naylor Deputy Minister

Subject: Ministry of Education Update

Thank you for your continued support for students, staff and families.

As you know, our greatest priority is the safety and well-being of our students, staff and their families. We are encouraged by the support you have shown as we have reopened schools across the province following the Winter Break, with remaining schools in Toronto, Peel and York opening on February 16, 2021.

With a continued focus on the safety of our returning students and staff, we introduced additional health and safety measures. These include enhanced screening protocols, masking for Grades 1-12, including outdoors where physical distancing cannot be maintained, discouraging staff and student congregation, and the expansion of targeted testing.

We know that the 2020-21 school year has been challenging for our students and staff. We understand how important it is for students to be learning in-person – alongside their peers – to support their well-being, mental health, and development. We also recognize that all sectors, including our education sector, play an important part in stopping the further spread of the virus.

We will continue to focus on supporting the health and well-being of students, families and staff in what has been an unprecedented year. That is why, based on advice from the Chief Medical Officer of Health, we will be deferring March Break for the 2020-21 school year.

We recognize the importance of providing students, staff and families with an opportunity to rest and recharge. This is why we will be moving the planned break to the week of April 12, 2021.

Boards are asked to communicate their updated 2020-21 school year calendars, reflecting the above direction, with parents and families as soon as possible.

Thank you for your ongoing partnership as we continue to ensure the safety of students and staff in this unprecedented school year.

Sincerely,

Stephen Lecce Minister Nancy Naylor Deputy Minister

c: President, Association des conseils scolaires des écoles publiques de l'Ontario (ACÉPO)

Executive Director, Association des conseils scolaires des écoles publiques de l'Ontario (ACÉPO)

President, Association franco-ontarienne des conseils scolaires catholiques (AFOCSC)

Executive Director, Association franco-ontarienne des conseils scolaires catholiques (AFOCSC)

President, Ontario Catholic School Trustees' Association (OCSTA)

Executive Director, Ontario Catholic School Trustees' Association (OCSTA)

President, Ontario Public School Boards' Association (OPSBA)

Executive Director, Ontario Public School Boards' Association (OPSBA)

Executive Director, Council of Ontario Directors of Education (CODE)

President, Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO)

Executive Director and Secretary-Treasurer, Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO)

President, Ontario English Catholic Teachers' Association (OECTA)

General Secretary, Ontario English Catholic Teachers' Association (OECTA)

President, Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario (ETFO)

General Secretary, Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario (ETFO)

President, Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF)

General Secretary, Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF)

Chair, Ontario Council of Educational Workers (OCEW)

Chair, Education Workers' Alliance of Ontario (EWAO)

President of OSBCU, Canadian Union of Public Employees - Ontario (CUPE-ON)

Co-ordinator, Canadian Union of Public Employees – Ontario (CUPE-ON)

Executive Director, Association des directions et directions adjointes des écoles franco-ontariennes (ADFO)

Executive Director, Catholic Principals' Council of Ontario (CPCO)

Executive Director, Ontario Principals' Council (OPC)