

Ministry of Education Ministère de l'Éducation

Capital and Business Support Division Division du soutien aux immobilisations et aux

affaires

315 Front Street West

15th Floor

315, rue Front Ouest

15^e étage

Toronto ON M7A 0B8 Toronto (Ontario) M7A 0B8

Date: December 17, 2020

Memorandum to: Directors of Education

From: Didem Proulx

Assistant Deputy Minister

Capital and Business Support Division

Subject: 2021 Election Deadline Extension for Certain Student

Trustees

I am writing to inform you of a temporary extension to the election deadline for certain student trustees in Spring 2021. We recognize how challenging the 2020-21 school year has been and seek to increase operational flexibility for boards wherever possible.

Through regulatory amendments, the deadline for the election of student trustees serving one-year terms has been extended from the last day of February to April 30, 2021. This aligns with the deadline for the election of student trustees serving two-year terms. This temporary change will only affect student trustee elections taking place during 2021.

We encourage boards to hold elections for student trustees serving one-year terms as soon as feasible to allow incoming student trustees the maximum amount of time to learn from the outgoing trustee(s) and to prepare to assume office on August 1, 2021.

For more information on the amendments to O. Reg. 7/07 (Student Trustees) under the *Education Act*, please refer directly to the <u>Ontario e-Laws website</u>.

Thank you for your ongoing commitment to education in Ontario.

Sincerely,

Didem Proulx
Assistant Deputy Minister
Capital and Business Support Division

cc: Denis Chartrand, President, Association des conseils scolaires des écoles publiques de l'ontario (ACÉPO)

Isabelle Girard, Executive Director, Association des conseils scolaires des écoles publiques de l'ontario (ACÉPO)

Johanne Lacombe, President, Association franco-ontarienne des conseils scolaires catholiques (AFOCSC)

Yves Lévesque Executive Director, Association franco-ontarienne des conseils scolaires catholiques (AFOCSC)

Patrick Daly, President, Ontario Catholic School Trustees' Association (OCSTA)

Nick Milanetti, Executive Director, Ontario Catholic School Trustees' Association (OCSTA)

Cathy Abraham, President, Ontario Public School Boards' Association (OPSBA)

W. R. (Rusty) Hick, Executive Director, Ontario Public School Boards' Association (OPSBA)

Tony Pontes, Executive Director, Council of Ontario Directors of Education (CODE)

Justine Mackay, President, Ontario Student Trustees' Association (OSTA)

Olivier Laurendeau, President, Regroupement des élèves conseillers francophones de l'Ontario (RÉCFO)