Ministry of Education	Ministère de l'Éducation	Ne	
Deputy Minister	Sous-ministre		
Mowat Block Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1L2	Édifice Mowat Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1L2	U,-	Ontaric
Memorandum To:	Directors of Education Supervisory Officers and Secretaries of School Authorities Principals of Elementary Schools Principals of Secondary Schools Principals of Provincial and Demonstration Schools		
From:	George Zegarac Deputy Minister		
Date:	June 21, 2013		
Subject:	Use of Copyright-Protected Works f Memorandum No. 157	or Education: Pol	icy/Program

Please find attached the Policy/Program memorandum (PPM) No. 157 entitled *Use of Copyright-Protected Works for Education*, which comes into effect immediately. This PPM is pursuant to the *Copyright Modernization Act, 2012*, which received Royal Assent on June 29, 2012. The PPM is also pursuant to the Supreme Court of Canada's decision of July 12, 2012, that clarified that educators may copy "short excerpts" of copyright-protected works for students in their classes, in accordance with the fair dealing provisions in the *Copyright Act*.

The PPM provides the recommended guidelines that describe the conditions and limits of fair dealing for education. It also describes the roles and responsibilities of school boards regarding the educational use of copyright-protected works in compliance with the *Copyright Act*, including uses that are outside permitted provisions. The PPM also provides recommended compliance strategies for boards.

Please share this PPM with your superintendents and principals. If there are any questions relating to the PPM, please contact your ministry regional office.

Sincerely,

Teorge Zeganac

George Zegarac Deputy Minister

Enclosure: Policy/Program Memorandum (PPM) No. 157: Use of Copyright Protected Works for Education

c:

Barry Pervin Assistant Deputy Minister, Instruction and Leadership Development Division

Grant Clarke Assistant Deputy Minister, Learning and Curriculum Division

Janine Griffore Assistant Deputy Minister, French Language, Aboriginal Learning and Research Division

Rhonda Kimberley-Young Secretary-Treasurer, Ontario Teachers' Federation (OTF)

Terry Hamilton President, Ontario Teachers' Federation (OTF)

Gene Lewis General Secretary, Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario (ETFO)

Sam Hammond President, Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario (ETFO)

Pierre Côté General Secretary, Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF)

Ken Coran President, Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF)

Marshall Jarvis General Secretary, Ontario English Catholic Teachers' Association (OECTA)

Kevin O'Dwyer President, Ontario English Catholic Teachers' Association (OECTA)

Carol Jolin President, Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO)

Pierre Léonard Executive Director, Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO)

Paul Lacalamita Executive Director, Catholic Principals' Council of Ontario (CPCO)

Ian McFarlane Executive Director, Ontario Principals' Council (OPC) Luc Carrier

President, Association des directions et direction adjointes des écoles franco-ontariennes (ADFO)

Nadine Goulet Executive Director, Association des directions et direction adjointes des écoles franco-ontariennes (ADFO)

Frank Kelly Executive Director, Council of Ontario Directors of Education (CODE) Ontario Public Supervisory Officials' Association (OPSOA)

Bernard Roy Conseil ontarien des directrices et des directeurs de l'éducation de langue française (CODELF)

Theresa Harris Executive Director, Ontario Catholic Supervisory Officers' Association (OCSOA)

Julie Bisson President, Association des gestionnaires de l'éducation franco-ontarienne (AGEFO)

Louise Pinet

Executive Director, Association des conseillères et des conseillers des écoles publiques de l'Ontario (ACÉPO)

Benoit Mercier Executive Director, Association franco-ontarienne des conseils scolaires catholiques (AFOCSC)

Kevin Kobus Executive Director, Ontario Catholic School Trustees' Association (OCSTA)

Gail Anderson Executive Director, Ontario Public School Boards' Association (OPSBA)

Michael Salvatori Registrar and Chief Executive Officer, Ontario College of Teachers (OCT)