## September 7, 2021

**Memorandum to:** Directors of Education

Secretary/Treasurers of School Authorities

From: Nancy Naylor

**Deputy Minister** 

Subject: Instructions issued by the Office of the Chief Medical

Officer of Health

I am writing today to share with you the *Instructions issued by the Office of the Chief Medical Officer of Health* regarding mandatory COVID-19 vaccination policies, to support the continued health and safety of students, children, staff and visitors in schools and child care.

In accordance with the Instructions issued by the Office of the Chief Medical Officer of Health (OCMOH), all publicly-funded schools, child care licensees, private schools, and student transportation providers as described in the attached letter, are required to have a mandatory COVID-19 vaccination policy in place that applies to the individuals defined in the OCMOH Instructions by **September 7, 2021**, and have the policy fully implemented by **September 27, 2021**.

The attached Instructions have been issued under the authority of subsection 2(2.1) of Schedule 1 and Schedule 4 of <u>O. Reg. 364/20: Rules for Areas at Step 3 and at the Roadmap Exit Step</u> under the <u>Reopening Ontario (A Flexible Response to COVID-19 Act, 2020.</u>

The ministry recently issued guidance related to these Instructions. The ministry will provide further implementation information on rapid antigen test kits and the educational session resource as details are finalized, to support full implementation by September 27th.

I am grateful for your continued efforts in adapting your policies and procedures to align with applicable health and safety requirements

Sincerely,

Nancy Naylor Deputy Minister c: Dr. Kieran Moore, Chief Medical Officer of Health of Ontario

Executive Director, Association des conseils scolaires des écoles publiques de l'Ontario (ACÉPO)

Executive Director, Association franco-ontarienne des conseils scolaires catholiques (AFOCSC)

Executive Director, Ontario Catholic School Trustees' Association (OCSTA)

Executive Director, Ontario Public School Boards' Association (OPSBA)

Executive Director, Council of Ontario Directors of Education (CODE)

Executive Director and Secretary-Treasurer, Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO)

General Secretary, Ontario English Catholic Teachers' Association (OECTA)

General Secretary, Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario (ETFO)

General Secretary, Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF)

Chair, Ontario Council of Educational Workers (OCEW)

Chair, Education Workers' Alliance of Ontario (EWAO)

Co-ordinator, Canadian Union of Public Employees – Ontario (CUPE-ON)

Executive Director, Association des directions et directions adjointes des écoles franco-ontariennes (ADFO)

Executive Director, Catholic Principals' Council of Ontario (CPCO)

Executive Director, Ontario Principals' Council (OPC)