2013 OPSBA Awards Recipients


TORONTO, June 17, 2013 – The Ontario Public School Boards’ Association (OPSBA) Awards Program recognizes outstanding contributions to public education made by individuals from across Ontario. While it is impossible to honour all those dedicated people who make a difference, the recipients of these awards represent the many who work tirelessly and unselfishly to make our schools and education system better.

The Dr. Harry Paikin Award of Merit is given for outstanding service as an active or retired public school Trustee. This year’s recipient is Peter Adams-Luchowski, Trustee, York Region DSB. Peter has provided dedicated service to his community through exemplary service on YRDSB committees, school athletics volunteer work and his work with the Royal Canadian Legion, among numerous other accomplishments. Described as a “hugely positive presence” and a “cheerleader for the great work of … teachers, support staff, administrators and students,” Peter’s work with the Ontario Youth Apprenticeship Program has helped many students find valuable learning placements.

The President’s Award recognizes trustees who have given 25 years of dedicated service to public education. This year’s recipients are: Lora Campbell, DSB Niagara; Randy Sheppard, Near North DSB; and Rosemary Pochopsky, DSB Ontario North East.

The Fred L. Bartlett Memorial Award is presented annually for outstanding contribution to education throughout Ontario by an active or retired member of the teaching profession. This year’s recipient is Leigh Cassell, Founder of the Digital Human Library, Avon Maitland DSB.

The Award of Merit and Awards of Recognition in Memory of Jack A. MacDonald are presented to those students who have demonstrated sound academic record throughout their careers, accompanied by outstanding community service and leadership. The recipient of this year’s Award of Merit is Brian Grant of St. Clair Secondary School, Lambton Kent DSB.

The OPSBA Award of Excellence and Achievement Award are presented by the local board to volunteers for outstanding, exemplary and/or unique contributions to the overall well-being of the school or community through in-school, board-wide, extra-curricular and/or volunteer activity. The recipients of this year’s awards are: Catherine Soplet, Parent Volunteer and Champion, Peel DSB; Laura Sylvestre, Chair of SEAC, Lakehead DSB; and Carlos Santander Maturana, Educational Assistant, Westgate CVI, Lakehead DSB.

The Ontario Public School Boards’ Association represents 1.2 million students who attend public schools across the province. The Association believes that the role of public education is to provide universally accessible education opportunities for all students regardless of their ethnic, racial or cultural backgrounds, social or economic status, individual exceptionality, or religious preference.

– 30 –

For more information, please contact:
Jeff Sprang
OPSBA Communications
(416) 340-2540