Bernardine Yackman Memorial Award

​The Bernardine Yackman Memorial Award is awarded to an Active or Retired Trustee of an OPSBA Member Board for dedication, commitment and an outstanding contribution to education with special recognition for Northern Ontario service. The late Bernardine Yackman was a trustee on the Sudbury Board of Education and, for many years, an active Director of the Northern Ontario School Trustees’ Association. First awarded in 1985, the award recognizes dedication, commitment and an outstanding contribution to education in Ontario by an active or retired school trustee. Service to or on behalf of education in Northern Ontario, at the board, regional or provincial level will receive special recognition from the judging committee, the OPSBA Northern Regional Directors.

Terms of Award

  • The award is presented annually at OPSBA’s Fall Northern Regional Meeting, with recognition to be given at the following year’s AGM.
  • The recipient of the award must be an active or retired trustee of a member board of the Association.
  • The award will be presented on the basis of recognition of dedication, commitment and outstanding contribution to education in Ontario. Service to or on behalf of Public Education in the Districts of Northern Ontario at board, regional an provincial levels will receive special recognition.
  • Trustees currently serving on the OPSBA Board of Directors will be ineligible for nomination while a Member of the Board.
  • All nominations must be received no later than June 7, 2024.

Nomination Information Checklist

To create a complete submission package outlining the candidate’s accomplishments, please ensure they meet the award criteria and include the following information.


Dedication, commitment and an outstanding contribution to education with special recognition for Northern Ontario service. Trustees are ineligible for nomination while serving as a member of the OPSBA Board of Directors.

Nominations submissions deadline: June 7, 2024
Judging Committee: OPSBA Northern Regional Directors.

Information Summary (Maximum Two Pages)

An information summary in point form of Record of Service, as a complete profile of the candidate.
Aspects of career, community service, and personal accomplishments may be included here.

Supporting Nominators List (Maximum One Page)

A separate list of Supporting Nominators.
Three or more references required from Supporting Nominators, outlining the outstanding contribution to education that this trustee has made.
Nominators are encouraged to get board support for the candidate.

Trustee Accomplishments List (Maximum Two Pages)

A detailed account of the nominee’s accomplishments as a public school trustee.
List and briefly describe all accomplishments that specifically relate to:

  • Outstanding contribution to education in the Province of Ontario, and
  • Service to public education at board, regional and provincial levels in Northern Ontario.

Supplementary Information (Maximum Three Pages)

Any additional information which illustrates the influence of the candidate in the field of education. Media clippings, etc. may be included. Audio visual information is inadmissible.

Previous Recipients


Jay Aspin

Raymond Roy

Near North District School Board

Rainy River District School Board

​2017 ​Wanda McQueen ​Algoma District School Board
​2016 ​Lori Lukinuk ​Lakehead District School Board
​2014 ​Howard Archibald ​District School Board Ontario North East
2012 Trudy Tuchenhagen Lakehead District School Board
2011 William (Bill) Hall Algoma District School Board
2010 Armand Giguere Caramat District School Area Board
2009 Eunice Saari Near North District School Board
2008 Bill Mokomela Lakehead District School Board
2007 Gord McBride Rainy River District School Board
2005 Alan McLean Algoma District School Board
2004 Bill Dawes Keewatin-Patricia District School Board
2003 Doreen Dewar Rainbow District School Board
2002 Wayne Pickard Algoma District School Board
2000 Lynn Peterson Lakehead District School Board
1999 Frances Sewards the former Sault Ste. Marie Board of Education
1998 Lyn McLeod Lakehead District School Board
1997 Vicki Kett Sudbury Board of Education
Juergen Leukert Timiskaming Board of Education
1996 Ernie Checkeris Sudbury Board of Education
1995 Paula Dunning Central Algoma Board of Education
Dorothy Wright Timiskaming Board of Education
1994 Allan Jones Nipigon Red-Rock Board of Education
1993 Bert Johnson Upsala District School Board
1992 Basil Merchant Kapuskasing Board of Education
1991 Jack Switzer Atikokan Board of Education
1990 Edna Kidd Kenora Board of Education
Marilyn Rowe Muskoka Board of Education
1989 Dora Taylor Logan West Parry Sound Board of Education
1988 Kay Forsyth Kapuskasing Board of Education
1987 Mary Anne Misner Dryden Board of Education
1986 David Doney Nipissing Board of Education
1985 Harold Crowder Sault Ste. Marie Board of Education