2022 OPSBA Awards – Nominations Now Open!


Five gold stars on a black background

Know an amazing trustee, teacher, education worker, student or community member who deserves to be recognized for making a difference in their local school or community?

Nominations for the 2022 OPSBA Awards are now open! The nomination form can be accessed online.

The nomination deadline for all awards, except for the Bernardine Yackman Memorial Award is April 1, 2022.

The nomination deadline for the Bernardine Yackman Memorial Award is June 9, 2022.

For complete information about the Awards Program, click here – please take a few moments to review the criteria for the OPSBA Awards before submitting a nomination.

*New for 2022 – Self-nominations are now permitted!

The OPSBA Awards include the following:

The President’s Award recognizes 25 years of service in public education.

The Jack A. MacDonald Award of Merit honours an elementary or secondary school student attending an Ontario public school who has earned a sound academic record and has shown outstanding service and leadership in his or her community.

The Fred L. Bartlett Memorial Award is presented annually to an active or retired member of the teaching profession. The successful candidate is selected on the basis of outstanding contribution to education throughout Ontario, such as constructive participation in education affairs over a number of years or for dedication to some recent and specific project that has had provincial impact.

The Dr. Harry Paikin Award of Merit is awarded to an active or retired public school trustee for outstanding service.

The Achievement Award and Award of Excellence are presented by OPSBA through local boards to volunteers for outstanding, exemplary and/or unique contributions to the overall well-being of the school or community through in-school, board-wide, extra-curricular and/or volunteer activity. This award provides an opportunity to raise awareness and promote the importance of celebrating excellence and the necessity of recognizing the work of all members of the education community.

The Bernardine Yackman Memorial Award is for dedication, commitment and an outstanding contribution to education with special recognition for Northern Ontario service.

Please share this information wherever you are able within your schools, school boards, and communities!

Start the nomination process now

For more information: Mary Adams, Awards Coordinator, 416-340-2540, ext.101, or email inquiry@opsba.org.  

Start the Nomination Process Now!